#TBT: 3 years ago

It’s hard to believe that 3 years ago today, our Halifax Mooseheads were celebrating a great season with a Memorial Cup championship. The 2012-2013 QMJHL season was an exciting one for the city of Halifax where we hosted the Top Prospects game, won the President’s Cup and had 58 victories during the regular season. Since that May 26th day in 2013, all 20 players and the head coach have moved on, some to the pros but most to universities in Canada. The MVP of the tournament, Nathan MacKinnon had his best game in Saskatoon and was drafted 1st overall in the NHL draft a month later to Colorado.

Hopefully we’ll have another championship year soon. Check out the video below for a recap of the season.


My recap from that night is below.

Your Halifax Mooseheads are champions once again. The Mooseheads won the President’s Cup earlier in the month to book their ticket to the Memorial Cup as QMJHL Champions. They have now finished their unbelievable season with a Memorial Cup trophy after beating the WHL champions Portland Winterhawks 6-4. 

The Winterhawks let in 3 goals in the first period and wasn’t able to dig themselves out of the hole although they came very close. After outshooting the home team 5-0 early in the period, Mac Carruth let in a powerplay goal by Konrad Abeltshauser. Both players played in their last junior hockey game. In the second however, the Hawks got two goals to scare the Halifax faithful back at home and at the Credit Union Centre. It could’ve been tied at threes if Ty Rattie didn’t glove the puck into the net. In the last 20 minutes, there was as many goals in that period as there was in the first two periods with Nathan MacKinnon scoring a hat trick to put it away with an empty net. Portland had a lot of pressure against Zach Fucale and the defense. It was almost the same score as the first game between these two teams but the Herd couldn’t get the seventh but they also had a goal taken back.

Stephen MacAulay made history tonight after he won his second Memorial Cup. No one has ever gone to 4 league finals, won three and won two national championships. I’m sure he wasn’t thinking of the fact that he made history. He assisted on Nate’s third goal.

Photo - CHL website

Photo – CHL website

The all-star team was made up of both teams players. 
Goalie – Zach Fucale
Defense – Derrick Pouliot and Konrad Abeltshauser
Forwards – Nathan MacKinnon, Marty Frk and Ty Rattie

Tournament awards were as follows:
MVP – Nathan MacKinnon
Top Scorer – Nathan MacKinnon
Most Sportsmanlike – Bo Horvat
Most Outstanding Goalie – Andrey Makarov 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s